Prospective Students

Open Houses & Theatre Merit Scholarships

It is with great sadness that I inform you that due to the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) the Department of Theatre & Film has made the difficult decision to cancel its upcoming Open Houses for this academic year. We deeply regret that you will be unable to spend a day in our department, engaging with our wonderful faculty, staff, and students, sitting in on classes and workshops, and attending performances and film screenings.

However, if you are a high school senior or transfer student who would still like to apply (film), audition (performance), or interview (design and theatre production/management) for entry into either our BFA in Film Production, BFA in Acting for Stage & Screen, or our BFA in Design & Theatre Production, or for our Theatre Merit Scholarships, you can still do so. (If you are in an early year of high school, we encourage you to attend one of our Open Houses next year!)

Please visit our guide to What to Prepare for applications, auditions, and interviews for additional information about entry into each of our BFA programs as well as forms where you can submit your materials or schedule interviews. If you have questions about any of our programs or will be in town and would like a tour of our facilities please contact us.

Again, I am very sorry that you will be unable to visit our exciting department but I hope that you will submit materials for consideration.

Thank you.

Michael Barnett
Chair, Department of Theatre & Film 

Open Houses & Theatre Merit Scholarships

The department awards up to twenty-five Theatre Merit Scholarships each year. These scholarships are rewarded based on auditions (for performers) and portfolio reviews (for designers, stage managers, and students interested in production). Auditions and portfolio reviews are conducted two times a year on campus.

Sign up for an audition weekend or learn more about Theatre Merit Scholarship Audition / Interview Weekends and visiting campus (see below for details).

On-campus audition dates for 2020-2021:

Open Houses for 2020-2021 have been cancelled. Please see above for information on how to apply for our BFA programs.

Sign up for an an on-campus audition 

Typical Theatre Merit Scholarship Audition / Interview Weekend Friday - Saturday

Parents are invited to accompany students to all of the weekend's activities

9:00am: Meet with Michael Barnett, Chair, in Fulton Chapel

10:00am: Sit in on Freshman Performance Studies class with Dan Stearns, Isom 302, or Theatre Design Graphics class with Jared Spears, Isom 101A

11:00am: Sit in on Voice and Movement class with Rory Ledbetter, Isom 202, or Scenic Design with Jared Spears, Isom 100A

Noon: Lunch hosted by the department, Bryant Hall

1:00pm: Meeting with Theatre & Film faculty and students

1:45pm: Tour of campus conducted by Theatre & Film students

3:00pm: Information session with the Office of Admissions, Martindale

7:30pm: See Theatre & Film at The University of Mississippi production or film screening

10:00am: Theatre Merit Scholarship auditions and interviews in Isom 202

The Mary Ann Mobley Collins Theatre Arts Scholarship

This scholarship, established to honor in perpetuity Mary Ann Mobley Collins, is awarded annually to entering freshmen who are majoring in Theatre Arts.

The Susan Colbert Davis Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded yearly to theatre students from Mississippi, preferably from either from Chickasaw or Alcorn counties, who demonstrates financial need and academic achievement and who are in at least their junior year of study.

The Mary Donnelly Haskell Council Scholarship

Scholarships are awarded each year to young men and women in the Fine Arts entering the freshman class at The University of Mississippi. Academic and leadership record is considered. Some scholarships may be need-based. To apply for this scholarship please read more here.

The Ruby Simpson Shelton Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship, created to honor in perpetuity Ruby Simpson Shelton and to provide scholarship assistance to deserving students, is awarded annually to full-time students in the Department of Theatre & Film.

The Patricia Tarr Leavitt Scholarship

Established by two Ole Miss Theatre alumni, this scholarship is awarded yearly to full-time undergraduate students from Mississippi pursuing a BA or a BFA in Theatre & Film.

The Upton-Cantú Scholarship for Bachelor of Fine Arts in Acting

The Upton-Cantú Scholarship is a merit-based award given every year to a BFA Acting student. Students are invited into the BFA Acting program after auditioning at the end of their sophomore year.

The Wallace Hamilton Scholarship

Any full-time theatre student is eligible for this annual scholarship, which was established by the friends and family of Wallace Hamilton.

College of Liberal Arts

There are scholarships available through the Office of the Dean in the College of Liberal Arts.  They are available to any major in the College of Liberal Arts, but there is not an application process.  Click here to see those possible scholarship opportunities.

Office of Financial Aid

Additional information regarding loans, grants, and scholarships may be found at The University of Mississippi Office of Financial Aid website.